Signs its time to change cotton & coils

Altema

I'm new to RBAs. Im using a Kangertech subtank, the regular sized one not the mini. How do I know when its time to change the cotton and coils. About how often do they last? How often do I change the coils? What happens to the coils over time that leads them to be changed? What changes happen to the cotton that leads it to be changed?

Thanks for your help!!

Happy Vaping!!

As an RBA and RTA user I can say that with a diy coil you only have to really change the cotton regularly. Just slide the cotton out of the coil, dry burn the coil and rewick.

I change mine whenever I am not getting the full flavor I used to when everything was new. You will notice that the juice seems to have lost flavor. Once you pull the rebuildable section apart you will see a gunked coil and a dirty looking wick.

I would suggest replacing the coil about every third wick change, but that depends on the juice. If it is a dark or sweet juice you may have to do it more often.

Edit: Damn wish I had read the post carefully, area you referring to the pre-made coils? Or the RTA section? either way if you are losing flavor or are getting a burned juice flavor, its time.

Not familiar with the sub-tank premade coils yet, I am about to order one.

Others with more experience than me will chime in as well.

And welcome to VaporTalk

Edited by GeorgeF

Vacation?  Did someone say vacation? :D  I'll take TWO!

I'll add one thing to George's answer... on the RTA or cartridge coils, one additional indication it's time to change them is they will suddenly become tighter to draw.  This is because the coil gunks-up and slows the air-flow due to crud on the coil and dark build-up on the cotton.