Hulu vs Netflix etc...

In our ongoing budget effort to work toward a couple of goals, it pains me every time I pay the $250 cable bill (internet too but still) and am considering a subscription to one of these or another like it. Total noob and just wanted to get others thoughts. I did a trial of Hulu and wasn't impressed with the offerings. Is Netflix different or better?

Since I do a lot of shopping on Amazon, using Amazon Prime is perfect for me. With a $79 per year Prime account I get "free" two day shipping on Prime eligible merchandise, which is darn near everything. With the Prime Account you also get Prime video with thousands of TV series and movies for free. You can also get a rental from 48 - 72 hours for a couple bucks or buy the movie or entire seasons or one or two episodes for anything from $5 and up (individual TV episodes costs $1.99 each). For older TV series I've bought an entire season for $10 (eg. Castle Season 1). You can get a trial membership for free to see if you like it. Kills two birds with one stone. :)

Edited by Tameiki

We have AT&T Uverse for TV, net, and phone, but still use Netflix. Netflix has TV shows they are making now, plus, say you find a show two, three seasons in, and you want to catch up on the previous seasons (we're currently catching up with Sherlock, as long as we can keep everybody offline so it doesn't interfere with the dl of the video). I'm sure there are other shows I'd like to do that for as well - the first two seasons of American Horror Story for one. But you can do that with Hulu, too, can't you? Maybe we should have them send us the DVD's of the previous seasons, so we don't have to worry about net activity, but I don't know. Have to talk to the other half about that.