18650 cells

Squid

Hello all

I have been vapeing for about 5 years and have just gotten away from the pen cells. I recently picked up a Itaste VTR. I was wondering if anyone has removed the "protection" from one of the 18650 cells for flashlights for use in an ecig. I am curious because I see the protected cells advertised upwards of 5000mAh, while the unprotected cells seem to max out around 3400 and are much more expensive. The VTR will not accept a protected cell as they are too long. I was hopeing that someone has some info on this.

The protected batteries a little longer due to the PCB or fuse that's one them. You should never tamper with battery. Invest in some Sony vtc4 or 5. Or the efest 30amp or 35amp 18650 purple in color. Also the LG is good check the c rating or amp limit. Another is the Samsung 25r. There is also mnke and aw imr that would work great for that device

JoeJoe gave a good list of batteries, and I always trust Sony VTC4 and VTC5... but also don't forget the Panasonic 3400mAh as well... I have four that I rotate in my mechanical Mods, and I know several on here use them in their VTR's as well.

I know the Nitecore batteries you're talking about... I use them in my flashlights too. Yes, they are "protected" with a PCB fuse, and are taller. I'd not even begin to try to modify those to remove the protection circuit. Just use those Nitecores for your flashlights (as they are intended for) and pick up some unprotected 18650's for the VTR :) The Panasonic 3400's are about the highest mAh you'll find for your VTR. BTW, Amazon has a four-pack of Panasonic for $38 right now (Prime shipping). The price fluctuates from time to time but generally in the $35-40 range for the four-pack :)

Hello all