Aspire Vertical Coils

I have been using Anyvape Davide tanks for nearly two years. They are designed and come with Aspire BDC Coils but I have always used KPT singles in them. After seeing a couple co-workers using the Nautilus with the Vertial Coils and how much longer they last I decided to order a couple packs and give them a try.

Here is my question. Using a higher VG liquid (My flavor is "no PG added" but with flavorings they call it 65% VG 35% flavorings some contain PG) but the flavorings thin it out plenty to wick fine. I have read you need to "prime" these coils especially if using a higher VG liquid. They are organic cotton so I dont want to burn them by firing them dry and want to make sure I am doing it right when I use these.

Does anyone that uses-has used them primed them before using them? Should I do anything different than I have done in the past with my KPT single coils? I have always screwed them in let them sit about 5 minutes and am good to go but looking at these coils and the tiny holes I can see where wicking might take a little longer at first.

Also on a KPT coil the goal has always been to keep liquid out of the chimney but with these I have read the hols in the top of the coil is the main entry point for liquid which makes no sense to me because if the top of the coil is exposed how does liquid not run up the shaft and out the tip? It would seem if liquid enters through the top then there could not be a proper seal?

Two things - 

i think you need the redesigned base to fit the BVC.  And I don't know if the nautilus BVC fits, but you can try.