Mechanical problem with e-go model

Hey, so I've been vaping for about a year now, but I'm still fairly new to the mechanics of it.

So, I have a problem with my e-go; located between the battery and tank, where they screw together. I'm sorry if this isn't the place to post, I've tried some forums, but so far I haven't got any help.

When I bought a new tank from a different brand; in the screwing place (sorry, I have no idea what it's called) there was a metal ring fitted around the the inside wall. I have no idea what the purpose is, but when unscrewing the battery, the ring moved, and became slanted from the bottom to the top. I tried moving it back in place, but it no longer seems to fit, it must have been bent or something. I ended up removing just the ring, and screwed the battery back in. Everything fits fine, and the e-cig seems to still work, but I was wondering if it's okay to just keep the ring out, or if there was something else I should do. So far the only differences are that the battery screws in easier, and dragging requires a lot less force, but is a bit louder, it sounds like boiling water, kind of raspy. Lastly, the vapor seems to taste burnt after several drags, but not that badly. So yah, my question is just if it's okay to continue use, or If I should do something else, and if so, what?

Thanks, and I'm glad to be joining your community!

Sounds like your talking about what we call a beauty ring, screws on just to cover the outside ego threads, and your using a tank that uses the inside threads aka 510s. It's okay to leave it off, some tanks perform better with it, some without....your choice...

Crappy pics man!

Sounds like your talking about what we call a beauty ring, screws on just to cover the outside ego threads, and your using a tank that uses the inside threads aka 510s. It's okay to leave it off, some tanks perform better with it, some without....your choice...

Crappy pics man!