If Someone Is On Oxygen!

Celtic

If someone is on oxygen with enphasima (sp?) and wants to start vaping because they really miss the hand to mouth but will not need the nicotine do you guys think that would be a good or bad idea ... or please give me any input you have?

Can it hurt the lungs at all in this case?

Toni

Well my Mother in law is on oxygen for emphysema and she can barely take a deep breath without coughing -- let alone vape. As shortness of breath is a symptom of emphysema I don't believe vaping would be too easy anyway.

If they are off nicotine and on oxygen then this person can certainly break the "hand to mouth" habit or try a carrot.

Can't say for sure but,I think the vapor could irritate the lungs on a person with COPD and make them short of breath.I'm a nurse and recommend vaping to many of my smoking patients,however I don't think I would make that recommendation to a patient who's respratory function is so poor they require constant oxygen. I even tell those kind of patients to avoid any kind of strong odors or fumes,it doesn't take much exposure to anything that irritates the lungs to put them in the hospital for breathing problems.If they were still smoking I might consider vaping an option but if not no way.

Can't say for sure but,I think the vapor could irritate the lungs on a person with COPD and make them short of breath.I'm a nurse and recommend vaping to many of my smoking patients,however I don't think I would make that recommendation to a patient who's respratory function is so poor they require constant oxygen. I even tell those kind of patients to avoid any kind of strong odors or fumes,it doesn't take much exposure to anything that irritates the lungs to put them in the hospital for breathing problems.If they were still smoking I might consider vaping an option but if not no way.

I have to agree with Seaspine. Even if there is no nicotine, the vapor will be an irritant to already compromised lungs.