Building the right coil

bbrewer2005

OK, So I'm fairly new to vaping, but got bit by the mech mods and coil building pretty quick.

I've got a nemisis clone mod, and a stillare clone rda. Before I go any further, I want to point out that I'm very aware of ohms law, and the effects on batteries with very low ohm loads. With that being said, I'm using Sony US18650VTC4 batteries.

What I have now, is a dual coil setup thats clocking in .2 ohms 7/6 wrap 26ga kanthal with org cotton wick. These two coils came with this rda. Yes I'm keeping VERY close watch on these batteries, none have gotten even warm (except up top near the coils, from the coils themselves).

My problem is, These are producing a VERY hot vape to the point that I cant take more than a 1 sec draw, which burns my throat, and am not getting the vapor production that I want (until the battery starts to get low).

I know ohms law, and am pretty good with my hands and small objects (lets not get perverted here, lol). What I dont know, is what gauge, and how many wraps of what diameter I should be building these coils to get a certain resistance. I'm looking for a cool(er) vape, but doesnt have to be cold, and heavy vapor, if this is possible. If it helps, I take it straight to the lungs.

I know the best way is to start wrapping and testing, but I'm looking for a general idea to get me started.

I've got the basics. 28ga A1 kanthal, org cotton, 2mm silica, torch, 5/64th and 1/8th drill bits, and tweezers.

Anyone care to give me a hand?

Thanks to anyone kind enough to read this long winded post.

Do a search for coil builds, and check out the sub forum for rebuildables here too. Might help as well.

Now I feel like an idiot. I usually read the stickies before commenting on a new forum...heh

If an admin can move it over, I wont feel so bad. I apologize.

I missed that totally. Thanks again.