Ok you Genius Mixer- uppers... Im looking for "crumble" ingredients...

I have been diy'ing for a few months, after much trial and error, I have a few that I finally love.. I am however, struggling with a couple that I would like to have a "crumble topping " flavor... There are a few "genius mixers" here and I am hoping someone can give me an idea of where to start to obtain such a flavor, on my blackberry, rhubarb, etc.. Your help and attention to this post is MUCH appreciated...

Oh yum!!

I'm still new to DIY, I haven't a clue, but I'll be subscribing to this thread and following along. Kitsune, Mike, and the other guru's will be in shortly, I'm sure. If they don't know right now, you can bet they'll figure it out. They're topnotch chefs.

Thats what I figured, and that is precisely why I asked!! I have spent a few months perfecting my recipes (to my taste) and or my versions of "clones" and the crumble topping just gets me..... Ill be refeshing often, hoping to get some answers for us newbie mixers!! Thanks for your post Uma

I've added different crust type flavors to some of my bakery recipes by simply adding a little bit of graham cracker flavoring and also I have a flavor called pie crust which also does the job pretty well. You may have to use your imagination and a lot of trial and error(small batches) to create what you are going after. Sometimes a flavor or combo of will take on a taste that you don't expect and sometimes you get lucky and come up with something great(tell us when this happens!) I don't have the perfect answer to your question but I know the flavor you are describing. Not sure which flavors will take you there but if you keep trying different things you'll probably hit on it sooner or later. It might take a nut flavor, molasses, bread, danish or who knows what. I'm thinking that the flavor(s) needed to get that crunch taste on top of your other recipes will be considerably less % so that it doesn't drown out the main dish.