Popping Noise and other questions

Okay - I don't know that anything is actually 'broke' but Sean said to go ahead and ask away if we had issues or questions! Thanks, Sean. I think I'll just do that! First off, I'm brand new at this. Just got my penstyle yesterday from www.clearsmoke.ca if you want to know from where because their model number makes no sense to me. They call their penstyle a CS101 but I'm sure (well, hoping) that it is just 'their' name for it and it is a standard model.

Anyway, installed a coffee flavored cart I ordered (their 16 mg high nic), took a draw and ... holy crap! Choke, choke. Cough, cough. Kept at it off and on over the evening not vaping very much, just every once in awhile. Didn't take long before I started to feel kind of sick on the coffee stuff. So changed to the regular high nic cart. Off and on with good vapes/bad vapes trying to get the hang of things. Went to bed feeling kind of nauseaus and sore throat. Yes, I did read those two great threads that Kittyburn and Christoper (thanks for doing those!!) made on starting vaping and figure it could just be the usual symptoms of getting used to it? However, if I could just have your opinion on this - I smoke light cigs - 16 mg doesn't sound like much but do you think I should lower it? Hard to know how to judge that kind of thing, I suppose. Trial and error, maybe?

Today I noticed something different happening. Put new charged battery (took me awhile last night to think that maybe the reason I was having to draw harder and harder was that the battery was dying!!) and a new cart in the penstyle. All day I have noticed that I often get this crackling/popping sound now when I draw. Not everytime but most of the time. Is this normal?

Also how do you know when carts are done? Do they get dried out looking? If they still look wet, should that mean they still have life in them?